The Government of Tanzania

nembo Mainland Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika) gained independence in December 1961 while Zanzibar gained her independence in January 1964 through a revolution. The two countries united to form the United Republic of Tanzania in April. 1964. Until July 1992, Tanzania was a one-party state. Following recommendations by a Presidential Commission, the country has adopted a multi-party political system, and has held a successful General Election in 1995, 2000 and 2005.

Tanzania is a member of the United Nations, UNIDO, the World Bank, the IMF, the Commonwealth, the Non-Aligned Movement, SADC, PTA and the ADB. It is also signatory to the Lome Convention.

See: The Cabinet of the United Republic of Tanzania.