The constitution of the United Republic of Tanzania provides for a Multi Party political system. Currently there are about eighteen (18) registered political parties which also participated in the 2005 Presidential and Parliamentary elections. (www.nec.go.tz)

For purposes of conducting Multi-Party elections, there is an independent National Electoral Commission (NEC) whose main functions are: Supervision and coordination of registration of voters; Conducting the election of the President of the United Republic of Tanzania, Union Parliamentarians, and councilors in Tanzania Mainland; Review and demarcation of electoral districts in the United Republic of Tanzania for purposes of Parliamentary and Councilors elections.

Since 1992, when the Multi-Party Political System was introduced in Tanzania, there have been three successful Presidential and Parliamentary elections. The first such election was conducted in 1995, followed by the 2000, and the 2005 elections. In all cases, the Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) won the election by a landslide.

In the international arena, Tanzania’s history of stability and peaceful political transition makes it a strong candidate for political transition mediation and a broker of peace negotiations, particularly in the Great Lakes region